Home > BioWare, Dragon Age: Origins > Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening: No Romance, No Tenting?

Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening: No Romance, No Tenting?


Well WTF BioWare? Listen, I totally share Kat’s sentiment towards you guys, but I also share the sentiment that I love perving out. on Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening’s website they have a rather handy FAQ:

1.7 – If I had a romance in Origins, does it carry over into Awakening?

Romances do not carry forward in Awakening, because you are away from your previous life fighting a new threat.

Now this is to be expected unless you wind up marrying and taking over the crown in the end. For male protagonists you’re primary romantic interest (Morrigan) is off with your child in the woods and there is no guarantee that Leliana will be with you at the moment.  Even if she is there is go guarantee your love interest will fit in, have the right skills, or be needed in the new campaign. But then I read further:

1.8 – Who can I romance in Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening?

There are no romances options available in Awakening. The story is focused more on the mission at hand and the new threat to Ferelden.

eric cartman - i do what i want

"I DO WHAT I WANT!"

Come on now. You mean to tell me my character isn’t going to go looking for strange when off in a new land? You apparently don’t know my character very well. Let me clue you in. She’s an angry bitter whore of a city elf who does what she wants. Sure the primary male main character I have is a fine upstanding fella, but the girl? She’s gonna find a way to tent. Mark my words.

What the FAQ does say that really makes me excited is that:

1.9 – Which Dragon Age: Origins NPC will be returning?

Besides Oghren who plays a large role in Awakening, there are cameos and returning characters…

For me, Oghren was phenomenal comedic fodder. We had some wonderful analogies and misunderstood references. I laughed for hours when I heard Ohgren use the term “Pike Twirler”. I actually looked at my fiance and asked if she wanted to “grease up the ol’ bronto”. She said no. I think it worried her a little.
(thanks to reddit for catching the above typo. you’re always there for me.)

When asked her opinion Kat (who may be BioWare’s biggest fan…she may even be stalking them) responded with:

Learning the fact that you can’t romance in DA:O-A…almost makes me feel like…eff that. Totally takes the wind out of the sails.

While we are still going to purchase and play the crap out of it because…well…that’s what we do, we will still feel like something is missing. Like the game is slightly incomplete. While it’s entirely possible that we wont even notice the lack of tenting I am still going to miss it.

To check out the FAQ you can find it on the Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening website.

  1. March 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    WILL WE EVER SEE MORRIGAN AGAIN……..THERE SHOULD BE A HAPPY ENDING WITH MORRIGAN……. MANY OF US PROMISED TO FIND HER MAY B U CAN INCLUDE AN ADVENTURE TO FIND HER……..WE R READY TO BY ALL THE EXPANTION PACKS OF DAO BUT PLZ BRING MORRIGAN BACK……….

  2. wadoobie
    March 12, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I too promised to find her…more or less stalk her. There really is no ending, the ending is wide open. But *spoilers* if you remember in the ending it alluded to fact that the story with Morrigan was not over. There will be more at some point, you just have to give them time to figure out what they want to do with it.

  3. straight-jacket
    March 13, 2010 at 12:39 am

    So basically, BioWare has changed course with Awakening..Dunno…no romancing, previous folks are cameo stops…damn…I’ll need to move on to another game…doesn’t sound like an expansion…sounds like a derailment and that means trainwreck. If it isn’t consistent..what’s the point? Heavy Rain is up next..

  4. chaseninja
    March 16, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    i got awakening today and i cant even talk to my party anymore let alone f**k the hot tree girl and the other chick died from the joining 😦

  5. Merel
    March 25, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Man, my boyfriend actually bought this game for me today. Finding out that I can’t romance anyone, let alone /talk/ to my party outside of the forced conversations nearly made me quit playing. Nearly.
    -sigh- I could’ve totally imagined my Moira tenting with Nathaniel.

  6. DBear
    April 1, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    This is crap. I was so excited to see Alistair again and maybe pop a few babies out (I know, that’s asking too much), but then I found out he’s not even in it! What the eff???? And now I can’t even get anyone else to fall in love with me. They won’t even talk to me!! I understand that this is an expansion, but come on BioWare, do you guys really think we wouldn’t care?

  7. JT
    April 5, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    That’s a shame because I wouldn’t mind tenting with the dwarf chic. But it’s really a shame because I got the DLC character Shale. Since he’s a DLC character that I paid extra for, I believe he should follow me to the expansion.

  1. April 13, 2010 at 8:02 am
  2. April 20, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Leave a Reply

